Qualifying interests

The thirteen Natura 2000 sites on the South Wexford Coast comprise six Special Protection Areas (SPAs) and seven Special Areas of Conservation (SACs). Thirty-seven named species of wild birds, together with wetland and waterbirds in general, are the qualifying interests of the SPAs. Seventeen habitats, including two priority ones (coastal lagoons and fixed sand dunes), and one animal (Grey Seal) are the qualifying interests of the SACs. Details in the PDF files below.

Further reading

Thirteen Natura 2000 sites

Qualifying interests of SPAs

BoCCI4 – Gilbert et al., 2021

BoCCI4 re SPAs on the SWC

Wetland birds

Qualifying interests of SACs